MIDLOTHIAN PROVINCE OF THE ROYAL CALEDONIAN CURLING CLUB.

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, 25th APRIL 2019 IN THE EDINBURGH CURLING CLUB ROOMS AT MURRAYFIELD.

In attendance:

David Cunningham (SIAE), Paul Davis (Corstorphine), Lindsay Scotland (Carrington), Ruth Addinall (Ford Ladies), Roger Scott (Penicuik), Ken Hunter (Penicuik, DAFS), Dan Lean (Watsonian), Pat Edington (Boswall), Robert Steeples (37 Club), Stuart Douglas (Sweepers), John Steven (Currie and Balerno), Archie Smith (Merchiston), Kath Murray (Corstorphine Ladies), Jenny Barr (Currie and Balerno), Margaret Nicol (Pentland Ladies), Calder Benzies (Corstorphine), Barbara Gillespie (Lothian Ladies), Gordon Moodie (Sweepers), Niall Gunn (Gogar Park), Douglas Goddard (Heriot's FP), Mike Dick (Carrington), Myra Fell (Haymarket, Colinton Ladies), David Fell (Bank of Scotland), Catherine Dodds (Carrington), Robin Copland (Currie and Balerno), Mike Wilkinson (37 Club), Alison Dick (Carrington), Trevor Dodds (Oxenfoord), Douglas Auld (Holyrood), David Morrison (Holyrood), Jon Pickup (DAFS), Malcolm Patrick (Watsonian), Dave Carr (Penicuik), Sean Murphy (Gogar Park), Chris Mitchell (Chartered Surveyors), Basil Baird (Midcalder), Malcolm Wright (Dalkeith),

1. Apologies.

Apologies for absence were received from Stan Howard (Boswall), Margaret Barr (Lothian Ladies), Robert Stewart (Oxenfoord), James Scott (Clydesdale).

2. President's remarks and In Memoriam.

The President welcomed all the attendees and asked the meeting to stand for a minute's silence to mark the passing of the following Province members during the 2018-19 season:

Stewart Robertson (SIAE), Isobel Hastings (Colinton Ladies), Frances Binnie (Corstorphine Ladies), Christina Baird (Corstorphine Ladies, Midcalder) and John Watt (Corstorphine).

After last season's AGM, Midlothian Province was declared the winner of the Waldie-Griffith Trophy. We may have won it again this season.

Due to last season's postponement, there were two Pate Trophy competitions this season. Trevor won his one at Murrayfield but the current President didn't win the one at Kelso.

The Province Bonspiel was supported by Brewin Dolphin. They showed great interest and took to the ice.

Bridge Investments came to the KG IV Trophy final and presented the prizes.

The President thanked the Committee for their work during the season.

3. Minutes of the 2018 AGM.

Draft minutes were available to read at the meeting. With no matters arising, approval of the minutes was proposed by Trevor Dodds, seconded by Kath Murray and carried by the meeting.

4. Secretary's Report.

Gogar Park was knocked out in the group stage of the Scottish Province Championships but lost by one shot to both of the eventual finalists.

In the Midlothian Province League Div 1, Stray Dogs won the Salver and the Cup, beating Musketeers, thereby qualifying for the Scottish Province Championships.

The MPL Div 2 play-off was won by SIAE over Barbarians. Both will be promoted to Div 1. Div 3 play-off was won by DAFS over Chartered Surveyors. Both will be promoted to Div 2.

Div 3 was reduced to six clubs. As well as encouraging other clubs to participate, existing clubs may enter a second rink if they wish. The two rinks must comprise of different players.

The Brewin Dolphin Midlothian Province Bonspiel was won by Currie & Balerno with $+11^{2/3}$ shots, ahead of Pentland Ladies on $+7\frac{1}{2}$. RBS won the Colin Black Trophy with +14 shots.

The Bridge Investments competition for the KG IV Trophy was won by Penicuik over RBS.

Carrington, Clydesdale Bank, Midcalder and Penicuik represented Midlothian in the Waldie-Griffith Inter Province Cup, against Dundee and District Province at Murrayfield. We won by an average of +8.5 shots and look like we have retained the Trophy (awaiting reply from RCCC).

The previous season's Pate Trophy match against Border Province at Murrayfield had been postponed until November 2018 and Midlothian won 66-43. We were represented by the President's rink, Carrington, DAFS, Gogar Park, Midcalder, SIAE and Sweepers. The Kelso fixture was a close defeat by 50-47. As well as the President's rink, we were represented by Gogar Park, Sweepers, Corstorphine Ladies, Midcalder, DAFS, SIAE and Penicuik.

Midlothian won both the bonspiel and draw shot competition in the Edinburgh Area Bonspiel.

Midlothian Province sponsored and provided admin support for the ECC Monday League again. League A was retained by Jill Florence with Celia Nixon coming second. League B was won by Marjorie Liston, Susie Noble runner-up.

Roll of Honour.

European Men gold medal and Scottish Men winner: Bruce Mouat World Wheelchair silver medals: David Melrose and Gary Logan Scottish Women winners: Naomi Brown and Sophie Sinclair Scottish Women runner-up: Jennifer Dodds Scottish Mixed Doubles winner: Gina Aitken Scottish Senior Women winners: Susan Kesley, Fran Stretton, Vicky Gumley and Morna Aitken National Masters Men winner: David Hume National Masters Women winner: Catherine Dodds Scottish Junior Women winners: Kirsty Barr and Emma Barr Scottish Junior Women runner-up: Jane Barr Henderson Bishop winners: Currie & Balerno - Susan Kesley, Fran Stretton, Jenny Barr and Morna Aitken

5. Treasurer's Report.

The Treasurer thanked David Edwards and the Secretary for their help in taking over the role; also to Malcolm Patrick, the Auditor.

(a) Thanks were expressed to Brewin Dolphin and Bridge Investments for their sponsorships, both of which will continue next season.

Engraving costs included catching up on previous years. Ice fees increased due to Brewin Dolphin having two sessions plus a Bonspiel game – these were extraordinary costs. There was no real concern over the small deficit overall.

Adoption of the accounts was proposed by Sean Murphy, seconded by Dan Lean, and carried by the meeting.

(b) The Province annual subscription will remain the same.

6. Election of Office Bearers.

The Office Bearers were all eligible to remain in their roles and were willing to continue, with the exception of Stan Howard. The President thanked Stan for his contribution over many years.

David Edwards (Corstorphine) was nominated for the role of Committee Member by Basil Baird, seconded by Ken Hunter; Tom Jarvis (Bank of Scotland) was nominated for the role of Committee Member by Trevor Dodds, seconded by John Steven; there being no other nominations, David and Tom were duly elected. There being no nominations for the other roles, the Committee is:

President - Basil Baird (Midcalder) Vice President - John Steven (Currie and Balerno) Immediate Past President - Trevor Dodds (Oxenfoord) Secretary - David Cunningham (SIAE) Treasurer - Malcolm Wright (Dalkeith) Committee Members - Kath Murray (Corstorphine Ladies), David Edwards (Corstorphine), Tom Jarvis (Bank of Scotland)

Malcolm Patrick had indicated his willingness to continue as Honorary Auditor. There being no other nominations, Malcolm was duly elected.

7. Proposed change to the Constitution, paragraph 4.

The deadline for holding the Province AGM had been 14th April because that used to be the deadline for holding the Area AGM. The latter changed to 30th April, so it was proposed to move the Province deadline to 30th April too. This was unanimously agreed.

8. Any other competent business.

Roger Scott gave a brief outline of the origins of the RCCC. A locally organised event is planned for 2023 to commemorate the occasion – watch out for more information!

A Province Medal was presented to Niall Gunn, representing Currie and Balerno, as winner of the Province Bonspiel.

Ruth Addinall thanked the Province for sponsoring the Monday League.

There being no other business, the President closed the meeting and Trevor Dodds proposed a vote of thanks to the chair.